Lara Powers

Conseillère de l'engagement auprès des survivants, Polaris

Pendant plus de six ans, Lara Powers a été en première ligne des efforts nationaux pour lutter contre la traite. Elle s’est penchée sur les soucis de leadership et d’émancipation des survivants, le développement et la gestion d’une assistance téléphonique nationale relative à la traite des êtres humains, la lutte contre la traite à l’échelle de l’État, la gestion et l’analyse des données, le contrôle et l’évaluation, la défense des politiques, ainsi que les soins adaptés aux traumatismes subis.

De plus, elle est directrice régionale de l’initiative de renforcement des capacités de Survivor Alliance, dont l’objectif est d’intégrer des infrastructures de leadership des survivants locaux au sein de la lutte contre la traite dans trois villes américaines, grâce à une communauté de survivants organisant des stratégies et la création d’un programme de développement du leadership des survivants.

Par le passé, Lara a été responsable de l’assistance téléphonique nationale américaine relative à la traite des êtres humains chez Polaris. À ce poste, elle supervisait la qualité et les réponses des cas de l’assistance ; le développement des protocoles et politiques ; la gestion des revenus et de l’impact, et ; la formation, le bien-être et le développement personnel des équipes.

Lara possède une maîtrise de lettres en développement international de la School of International Service (université américaine), axée sur la traite des êtres humains et la violence sexiste.

Justice internationale

Les Tendances du travail des enfants et les solutions pour l’avenir

Continuer à lire
Méthodes statistiques et de mesure

Que savons-nous réellement de la prévalence de la traite des êtres humains ?

Claire Healy
Continuer à lire
Migration et déplacement

La problématique de la traite des êtres humains le long de la route des Balkans

Claire Healy
Continuer à lire

Dignity Journal Special Issue: World’s First 10-year Longitudinal Study on Care for Survivors of Human Trafficking

Continuer à lire

Towards Common Ground on “What Works” to End Modern Slavery

Continuer à lire

Lara Powers

Survivor Engagement Advisor, Polaris

Lara Powers has been on the forefront of domestic anti-trafficking efforts for over six years, working on survivor leadership and empowerment issues, national human trafficking hotline development and management, statewide anti-trafficking response, data management and analytics, monitoring and evaluation, policy advocacy, and trauma-informed care. She currently works in a consultant capacity as the Survivor Engagement Advisor at Polaris, where she uses her connections within the survivor community to systemically incorporate diverse survivor input across all of the organization’s programs.

In addition, she serves as the Regional Director of the Survivor Alliance Capacity Building Initiative, which aims to integrate local survivor leadership infrastructures into the anti-trafficking responses of three US cities through survivor community organizing strategies and the creation of a survivor leadership development program.

Previously, Lara was the US National Human Trafficking Hotline Manager at Polaris, where she oversaw hotline case quality and response; protocol and policy development; outcomes and impact management; and staff training, wellness, and professional development.

Lara holds a Master of Arts degree in International Development from the American University’s School of International Service, with a concentration in human trafficking and gender-based violence.

Recent Articles by this Author
International Justice

How to Spur Corporate Accountability with Modern Slavery Legislation

Genevieve LeBaron
Continue Reading
Survivor and Victim Support

Implementing Shared Decision Making with Child Trafficking Survivors

HEAL Trafficking, Samantha Sahl
Continue Reading
Measurement and Statistical Methods

Mapping Agricultural Labour Trafficking in Texas

Sarah Southey
Continue Reading
International Justice

How to Spur Corporate Accountability with Modern Slavery Legislation

Genevieve LeBaron
Continue Reading
Survivor and Victim Support

Implementing Shared Decision Making with Child Trafficking Survivors

HEAL Trafficking, Samantha Sahl
Continue Reading
Measurement and Statistical Methods

Measurement, Action, Freedom: Assessing Government Action to Achieve Target 8.7

Continue Reading